Set Firefox [4] Default Search Engine in URL Box

This post will show how to make the Firefox [4 Beta 8] URL box (which is the left one, by default; and it’s different from the search box) default to Google when something other than an URL is entered. (Just like Chrome’s omnibox.) It currently goes to Yahoo! For example, if you type, “hello world“, you want it to search for “hello world” (in Google). But it searches this in Yahoo! instead! Fortunately, there’s a way to change it to Google. (URLs like muntoo.wordpress.com will not be affected.)

  1. First, type in “about:config” into the url box, and click on “I’ll be careful, I promise!“:

  2. Under Filter, type in “http://search.yahoo.com/search?p=“:

  3. Edit the value of keyword.URL by double clicking it (or right click->Modify) and change it to “http://www.google.com/search?q=“:

  4. Do the same with browser.bdtoolbar.orig_keyword_url:

  5. And you’re done! Test by typing “the answer to life the universe and everything” into the url box.
~ by muntoo on January 25, 2011.

9 Responses to “Set Firefox [4] Default Search Engine in URL Box”

  1. Cool. FF4 b9 is out now I can’t wait till the actual release

  2. ff4 b10 is out too

  3. FF4 B10 was actually released on the 21st of January? Am I right?

  4. @Brad According to this page FF4B10 was released on January 25, 2011.

    @tim I’m looking forward to it, too, so I can change my FF usage from 0.1% to 5%. (Chrome will then be at 94.9%) It seems everyone’s copying Chrome (simplicity). Have you seen IE9 Beta? They copied Chrome! (A good thing… but still.) I’d better stop here before I go on a rant. 🙂 [Trust me, you don’t want to hear my 100s of lines of text speech about how Chrome pwns all in User Interface.]

  5. Thanks so much. I hate yahoo search with a passion.

  6. thanks, brow…. that is my need !

  7. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!! this was driving me keray-zee! I changed it to my native google site (google.com.au), both in the URL box and the search box. SO helpful – thanks again!

  8. Thanks so much. Some software secretly changed it to yahoo. No everything is OK again! Thaaanks :))

  9. wooohooooo! thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

 
